Back in harness

I’ve shared music with other people since I was 14 years’ old. I started by covering for a local pair of youth clubs; one was near my house, the other was at the other end of the village on the nearby R.A.F. base.
The latter didn’t last many years. The former, I attended for 13 years altogether.

I suppose I had a seven-year break from my passion before finding my next musical home at my local hospital radio station. I had a ball over there, meeting people in the hospital who came from all walks of life. It gets very interesting when you see someone whose been in hospital for a whole year, who finally gets the call to go home, having suddenly improved and recovered from the terrible injuries she sustained to her leg. I went to meet her that last night. She called my name in rapturous mood. “I’m finally going home!” she said. “Well, ’bout time an’all!” I replied, and gave her a massive hug. I was so pleased for her.

Then another lady, quite a bit older than I was at that time. Her son told me she was a distant relative of someone in a well-known band. Status Quo got her through her stay in hospital. She loved them, because one of them was family, apparently.

Then, someone else who had once worked for Her Majesty, our Queen. I kid you not!

Very occasionally, I’d meet people I knew from years before and we’d have a short chat and a catch up of sorts. Meeting your listeners when you play programmes in a hospital setting is incredibly exciting. It was the best bit of my night, hands down. I was active at the station for 18 years, and they decided to bless me with a Life Membership. I sat there in one of our meetings in stunned shock. I really couldn’t speak for a few minutes when I was told about it.

And then, life rolled off the rails. I got sick. My husband got sick and I had to decide to leave the station. They still keep in touch, now and again and I’m currently in a position to be able to make programmes at home for the backup 24 hour playout software that keeps the station rolling through the night and all the following day, every single day when we’re not there to physically man the studios. I’d love to go back. I ache for the old days sometimes, especially as I don’t see anyone now that hubby’s in a care home. I’ve become a hermit due to the condition I have, and no one ever comes to visit. So I need to kick meself up me own rump and make things happen. That means getting my own station together! It’s going to happen too. This summer, Sunshine Radio will be available. I just have to get a couple more bits of studio kit, then I’m up and running with the new obsession 😀

See, it’s all Mum’s fault. When I was a kid, she had given me a very old music box; a diamond-shaped lump of metal, (I kid you not), with a huge turnkey on top It was a black and gold thing, and I would not go anywhere without it, apparently. I’d had this item since I was a small baby and, if I hadn’t got it with me at night, I’d create merry you-know-what until I was given it again.

Then, I’d go to sleep!

Mum loved to sing. She also played the piano, and we had a big wind-up gramophone which got played at the weekend. It was Mum who played me my first request. We had the radio as a background sound. In later years, it was records on a beautiful old radiogram I loved to play with.

So, I’ve had music around me since probably before I was born. I love it. I can’t live without it, and these days, the first inkling that I can get back sharing it with others again, I’m right in there. So look out for Sunshine Radio this summer. I’ll leave the link and contact details when it’s all set up.

I’m sooooooooo excited 😀

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Audio and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Welcome! Please feel free to comment. I would appreciate it if you keep it clean.

