Another learning curve

Cabling.

Oh, don’t worry. I know what you’re all thinking. The words “how DARE you” probably feature in what you’re thinking, somewhere! Now, you know the Internet is full of very useful information. However, it is not always correct.

I love Wikipedia. I really do, but when they go through certain wiring loom info, don’t just take it for granted they know what they’re talking about! Take, for instance, a four x loom connection for audio purposes. Bloke in a local shop couldn’t remember which phono pair was input and which was output. When I saw the cable: Four RCA plugs connected to a five-pin DIN at t’other end; I thought, surely, it can’t be THAT hard to sort it out!

Sony Sharp hookup

My baby Sharp unit needed a minidisc player attached so I could play discs whilst working in the kitchen. S’why I bought the cable! Anyway, decided to do the hookup today. What. A. Blardy. Pallaver! I could not hear the left hand channel output. I spent almost an hour trying to suss speaker connections, because at the moment, they are far from perfect. I have to introduce better cabling and have the speakers modded that I’m using. Meanwhile, I tried both sets of cable to sort the speakers out. It took two tries before I became thoroughly suspicious about the hookup between my minidisc player and the Sharp amp. Having got thoroughly fed right up with faffing around with speaker connections, I decided to have another look at the phono-DIN connector.

And found out Wikipedia had got it all wrong, which is why one channel wasn’t sounding. Now, here’s the thing. One person will tell you they can’t remember which colour phono plug goes where. Another soul will say there are various configurations, and then, there’s me who likes to play it simple. You’ve got four colours. Red; black; white and yellow. White and yellow pair up on the cable, and black and red make up the other pair, without twisting any of the phono ends around another one to make up your audio configuration.

Keep it simple.

If you want audio out and audio in; pair up white and yellow. White always goes up top (L/H channel) Yellow, therefore, goes underneath to make the right hand channel connection. That’s your Audio OUT sussed.

What you’ve got left is black and red phono plugs. Black always goes up top. Red always goes down below. Stick them on your connector panel. Black is left channel; red is right channel. These are your Audio IN. Then stick the five-pin DIN into the socket on your amp. Naturally, when making and breaking connections, all cables are electrical; not just the power cable! Don’t ever forget that, and don’t hot-wire anything. Amp’s and players should be switched off and unplugged before faffing about with connections. If you’ve got a channel out, it ain’t always the speakers at fault. Check your interconnect between whatever peripheral it is and the amplifier. You might just find you wired it up wrong!

Little baby Sharp unit is singing its socks off now! 😀 Oh, and the minidisc player is a Sony 😀

DSC00449

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Audio, Sharp and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Welcome! Please feel free to comment. I would appreciate it if you keep it clean.

