More on tapes

I’ve loved the Sony sound for a long time.

Sony

I’ve recently become a bit of a Sharp groupie, too!

Sharp

Recently bought a beautiful outfit from a well known site last week. Was chuffed to bits when it turned up:

Sharp Audio

The tape deck needs new belts so can’t play with that yet, but the tuner and amp are studio quality and have spent the last week sounding off in here! That’s where the tape thing comes in. I put my Sony deck on the Sharp outfit and decided to try out a load of cassettes that hadn’t seen the light of day in about 19 or 20 years. I’d made one set up for my husband, who never played them. I played every single one of those without a hitch. That was amazing as they hadn’t been kept in the best of conditions, and you know what I’m like on that score.

There’s another set, even worse in the storage category; (old caravan, out in all weathers and not exactly weatherproof itself). So far, the tapes are still in perfectly playable condition. Now, if my husband were still here instead of in a care home, I might have railed about the slovenly treatment these tapes had had. Honestly! But it just goes to show that if they are dry in storage, perhaps not much harm will come to them.

Mum sent me yet another batch that she’d kept somewhere, and they play too! Love it 😉

The things we upset ourselves over sometimes is just not worth the upset, methinks! Nice to be able to play these recordings, as some tapes hold a spoken diary of hubby’s days as a sort of missionary to the poor people of Romania in years gone by. He initially went with a team to help restore, or build new hospitals and other buildings so that when Romania got their new government, after Nicolae Ceaușescu was ousted; they could start to slowly rebuild their lives. The tapes give a fascinating look into some of the things the team saw and did while they were there. It was either 1991 or 1992 when this happened, so it’s great that I can still access the story.

I’m pleased with that, as you might imagine!

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Audio, Quirks, Recording, Tape and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Welcome! Please feel free to comment. I would appreciate it if you keep it clean.

