And now for some quirks

So, I’ve had a little while to snuggle into using Windows 10 and I’m really liking it. It’s back to looking Windows 7-tidy again, but there are a few quirks I’d like to see ironed out.

First of all, any piece of software you open is going to look rather, (ahem) anaemic! There are no colours. Remember borders with colours? Ain’t like that no more. This is especially difficult when tab-browsing on the Internet. I use Chrome, and it’s more difficult to find where the tabs connect to pick the one I want. With all that whiteness, at least each tab still has it’s little symbol:

Browser

You’ll have to click the picture to get a better view, but note how white everything looks.

Upon grabbing the Windows 10 Upgrade via Windows Update and installing the OS, you might find that you wish to play a sound file, but there ain’t no noise coming outa your speaker system! I know.That’s bad, but easily fixed. If you look at this little grab, you’ll see a few changes to the icon display:

New icons

Third one back from the clock display is the speaker icon. Click it as normal and up the sound a bit. Go on, give it some welly đŸ˜€ Play the sound file again and this time, you’ll hear what you expected to hear.

Next; putting yer PC to sleep. I haven’t found the shortcut to this yet. I don’t think it’s been added. So, here’s the secret: Pop over to the other end of the Taskbar and click the Start icon:

It's over ere

Start is that little white foursquare Windows logo icon! You’ll find it in the same position the older Orb used to be. Once you click it, this pops up:

Start

On there, on the left hand panel listing is Settings. You want that.

Settings

Click System.

System

Now, Power and Sleep:

Power settings

Here’s where your settings can be set for when you’re powered up and, if using a laptop, further settings to conserve battery power are also available.

T’would be nice to have a shortcut icon to click to Sleep; Hibernate or Shutdown, but I haven’t come across it yet. So, there’s the first few tiny issues with Windows 10 that I’ve found today. I’m sure there’ll be a Service Pack to address all this. Meanwhile, the new OS is perfectly useable and so far, runs well.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Quirks, Windows 10 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Welcome! Please feel free to comment. I would appreciate it if you keep it clean.

