A-Z Turkish Herbs & Spices

Wanted to keep this, so am sending it to my official techy blog!

Olly's Turkish Blog

This is just going to be a quick-list of popular herbs and spices that the Turks tend to use alot in food. Some mentioned will probably be used in other cuisines as well. But the main point of this post is to give you an idea of the main herbs and spices we Turks use in our cooking.

A

  • Allspice  (Yenibahar) – Grown chiefly in Jamaica as well as Mexico and Malaysia, allspice is the dried ripe fruit of the plant Pimento officinalis. It is useful medicinally as an appetite enhancer, and also relieves gas and constipation. In the kitchen, it is used in meat dishes, köfte, and sausages as well as various dolma and sweets.
  • Anise (Anason) – Originating in Egypt, anise is the seed of a fragrant, low-growing member of the celery family (Apiaceae). It is used in baking, the making of rakı, and…

View original post 1,572 more words

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Welcome! Please feel free to comment. I would appreciate it if you keep it clean.

