Having a chat led to some investigation!

I bought a new laptop just before Christmas last year. It’s gorgeous!

Acer Aspire

Comes with Windows 8.1 as standard, and a lot of bloatware! I did decide to keep some of the programs which were pre-installed, but there’s an awful lot that had to come off.

Once that was done, it took the next week-8 days(!) to find and capture my music; never mind, iTunes. đŸ˜€ With Windows 8.1, everything is so snazzy and quick. Installing hardware took seconds each time. On Windows 7, you always had to wait a few seconds, sometimes, even a few minutes to do the same job. But with the cracking new i3 processor, things really get done without waiting at all. And the Internet certainly runs much, much quicker. I could give you the lowdown on why all of that happens, but it would take a while, plus, I’ve got something else I want to cover this time around. It’s got everything to do with cameras and downloading pictures.

Mate of mine was having problems getting photos off his camera and lobbing them on his hard drive. The way I always do it is to bypass any photo software and go straight to File Explorer. I always find things much easier that way.

With photographic software, there’s the thing where you might have to check what types of file formats are acceptable to that software. If it can’t read some of the formats, the pictures you want might not upload. That could have been what was causing my friend to have problems, but I haven’t got the full details, so I thought I’d tell you all how I do this job.

Windows 8 has some lovely little quirks about it. One of them is that you get asked, via a popup menu as to what to do with various types of files. Windows 8.1 ‘knows’ what you’ve just plugged into a USB port. In this case, it ‘saw’ my Sony camera and I was asked what I wanted to do with either my photos or videos. This is a very similar thing to what might have happened if I plugged a music player or a hard drive into my old Windows 7 laptop, so this isn’t a new idea. It just looks different!

Well, the whole OS (Operating System) looks different. I really love the layout of Windows 8.1. It’s actually done very well. Anyway, I ignored that popup menu and went straight to File Explorer, (the old Windows Explorer, as it was back in days of yore). I wanted to see what my camera would do, being as I hadn’t yet used it on the new OS, so, I plugged in its USB cable and waited for action after finding all the folders and files on the camera:

FileFolders

 

When you plug a device into a computer, most devices should have the ready capacity to be ‘seen’ as a hard drive with folders. See that DCIM folder? On a camera, this is usually the one you go to, to find your media. You click on that, then do exactly the same as you would on any other computer. Ask for the files to either copy over, or for them to be moved over using either of those Windows Commands.

Here’s the Ribbon Command Bar with those commands included:

The Ribbon

And that’s it! Windows 8 only looks different. It still acts exactly like any other of its predecessors. The Ribbon still has all the commands that the old Menu Bar had. It’s a bit more ‘in your face’, so to speak, here, and everything shown on the Ribbon should correspond with whatever task you want to do. It’s a great addition/change to Windows 8.1, and for me, at least, makes those PC chores a nicer activity.

Note: When copying media files over from any device, make sure there’s enough battery charge on your device to complete the job.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Windows 8.1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Having a chat led to some investigation!

  1. Pingback: New blog for techies! | The love of God

Welcome! Please feel free to comment. I would appreciate it if you keep it clean.

